Recommendation overview

GOAB assumes that viewer has access to all media offers from every provider, whether classic TV broadcasters or web based platforms.
That´s why we see our main task in the arrangement and classification of content on offer. This way, the viewer has the opportunity to make a choice that best fits his or her interests and preferences. In order to attain this overview, we bade farewell to conventional category standards.

Broadcasters

We do not separate by broadcasters in our overview. Today, classic media providers offer sorting content by sender. This is no longer a sufficient way to provide the viewer with an overview that truly interests them or one that they can scan quickly. An expansion to an even larger offering would amplify the problem.

Time

Time plays an even smaller role for us, as we assume that the TV of the future will consist mostly of on-demand programming. This is simply closer to the reality of many viewers.

Genre

In general, we do not separate by genres, because they are not precise enough. Action, comedy or suspense could mean too many different things.

We believe that a good overview helps to focus exactly on the offers the viewer is really interested in.

Profile Filter

To create this overview, GOAB takes available standard mechanics of online user profiles. Basis data, behaviors, likes, dislikes and analysis of social networks create a description of the user’s interests. The data filters media content so that the user has an at-a-glance view of their top recommendations. The quality of the recommendations improves with each use.

Expert system

The filter mechanic is supplemented by the user-defined expert system. Trustworthy individuals, opinion leaders or friends with special interests share their program recommendations with the user. Movie platforms, blogs and online magazines are additional options to fine-tune the quality of the recommendations.

The contents of this selection are segmented for the user into three categories:

News

Up-to-date, daily news items are of particular relevance. News is relevant because of its timeliness. The objective is to provide the latest information to the user based on what they are currently interested in.

Live

In this category, the user finds all the content that is bound to a particular broadcasting time. In GOAB, we assume that this revolves around real, point-in-time available broadcasting content. For example: sport and cultural events, premieres, live online gaming or shopping events. All broadcasted content will be made available afterwards in the media library.

Media library

All media that is not “News” or “Live” is found on offer in the media library as on-demand content.

For all three categories, free and paid content applies.
The aggregated and categorized recommendations create the user’s “Home Channel".

Profile selection

To enable GOAB for multiple users on one device, multiple profiles can be created. Within a family, a profile suitable to the requirements of every member or the entire family can be created. Configuration based upon children’s ages can also be done.

Channel concept

Our concept offers the following features to extend the personal recommendations:

Mood Search

A key requirement of the user is their desire to be put in a certain mood. It’s not uncommon that an evening in front of the television begins with the question, “What am I in the mood for?” Make me laugh or cry; thrill and excite me; intellectually stimulate me or simply entertain me. Maybe it’s a combination of many of these factors that one is searching for. The GOAB mood search fulfills the media offering by assigning adjectives that describe the mood or feeling. The search result based on this can be saved as a channel, so a media collection for that particular mood is created.

Publish / Subscribe

If a channel has a specific knowledge area or an “All time favorites” is being created, it can be published and shared with other users, so they can integrate this channel into their overview.

Classic search functions

Classic search mechanisms are available. For example, full text search for a director or actor to create a channel from the search result.

Topic Bookmark

By selecting a certain topic, GOAB aggregates content to a topic complex. As the results are being pulled from various sources, the user receives a comprehensive up-to-date overview about topics that they have selected.

These features for creating channels provide the user multiple options how they can expand their personal program overview.

Teaser

Based on the classic teaser concept, GOAB uses options to get information for a show. For every content selection, there will be a teaser displayed. The teaser can be shown in three variants with different depth of information. Basic information like title, genre and likes/dislikes from the user’s network; movie trailers, cast information, making of and ratings; as well as links for movies with the same actors or director would be available here for the respective show.

GOAB creates a relevant selection for user content. The complexity of the content would be manageable and useable and combined with the intuitive navigation of a touch-screen interface. It provides all functions in an easy to use way and the user is able to concentrate on what he really wants – to have fun watching TV.

« Back to top

Leave your comment:

Empfehlungsübersicht

GOAB geht davon aus, dass der Zuschauer Zugriff auf alle Medienangebote aller Anbieter hat, egal ob klassischer TV-Sender oder Web-Plattform.
Unsere erste Aufgabe sehen wir deshalb in der Sortierung und Klassifizierung des Angebots. Damit erhält der Zuschauer die Möglichkeit eine Auswahl zu treffen, die seinen Interessen möglichst genau entspricht. Um das zu erreichen, haben wir uns von bisher üblichen Kategorisierungen verabschiedet.

Sender

Wir verzichten in der Übersicht auf eine Einteilung in Sender. Schon das bestehende Angebot von klassischen TV-Sendern ist dermaßen groß, dass der Zuschauer Schwierigkeiten hat über die Sendernamen interessante Inhalte zu finden.

Zeit

Die Zeit spielt für uns nur noch eine untergeordnete Rolle. Wir gehen davon aus, dass das Fernsehen der Zukunft einen Großteil des Programms als on-Demand-Angebot zur Verfügung stellen wird. Dies entspricht einfach mehr der Lebenswirklichkeit der Zuschauer.

Genre

Wir verzichten weitgehend auf Genre-Einteilungen, da sie zu unscharf sind. „Action“, „Komödie“ oder „Krimi“ beschreiben jeweils zu viele völlig verschiedene Angebote.

Eine gute Übersicht konzentriert sich auf die Angebote, die den Zuschauer wirklich interessieren. Sendungen, die er ganz bestimmt nicht sehen will, werden nicht an erster Stelle oder sogar überhaupt nicht angezeigt.

Profilfilter

Um diese Übersicht zu erstellen, nutzt GOAB die im Web üblichen Mechaniken eines Nutzerprofils. Basisdaten, Verhalten, Likes, Dislikes und Auswertungen des sozialen Netzwerks formen eine Beschreibung der Nutzerinteressen. Diese Daten filtern das Medienangebot, so dass der Nutzer bereits auf den ersten Blick auf seine Top-Empfehlungen zugreifen kann. Die Empfehlungsqualität verbessert sich mit jeder Benutzung.

Expertensystem

Ergänzt wird die Filtermechanik durch das vom Nutzer bestimmte Expertensystem. Für den Nutzer glaubwürdige Personen, Meinungsführer oder Freunde mit besonderen Wissensgebieten teilen mit ihm ihre Programm-Empfehlungen. Film-Plattformen, Blogs und Online-Magazine können die Empfehlungsqualität weiter verfeinern.

Die so selektierten Inhalte werden in drei Kategorien unterteilt:

Nachrichten

Aktuell über das Tagesgeschehen informiert zu sein, nimmt für uns einen besonderen Stellenwert ein. Nachrichten erhalten ihre Relevanz vor allem durch ihre Aktualität. Ziel ist es, dem Zuschauer entsprechend seiner Interessenlage immer die aktuellsten Informationen zugänglich zu machen.

Live

Hier findet der Nutzer alle Inhalte, die an eine bestimmte Sendezeit gebunden sind. Das können bspw. Übertragungen von Sport- und Kulturveranstaltungen sein, Erstausstrahlungen oder auch Live-Online-Gaming- oder Shopping-Events. Einmal hier gesendete Inhalte finden sich nach ihrer Ausstrahlung in der dritten Kategorie wieder.

Mediathek

Alle Inhalte, die nicht zu „News“ oder „Live“ gehören, findet der Nutzer in der Mediathek als on-Demand Angebot.

Für alle drei Kategorien gilt, dass freie und kostenpflichtige Inhalte angeboten werden.
Die aggregierten und kategorisierten Empfehlungen bilden den „Home-Channel“ des Nutzers.

Profilauswahl

Um GOAB für mehrere Nutzer auf einem Device zugänglich zu machen, kann man verschiedene Profile anlegen. Für eine Familie kann bspw. für jedes Familienmitglied oder auch für die ganze Familie ein Profil angelegt werden, das den jeweiligen Anforderungen entspricht. Darüber hinaus ist es möglich eine Auswahl für Kinder zu konfigurieren, die in der Übersicht nur altersgerechte Sendungen listet.

Channel-Konzept

Unser Konzept bietet folgende Möglichkeiten, um das persönliche Empfehlungsangebot zu erweitern:

Mood Search

Ein zentrales Bedürfnis von TV-Zuschauern ist, in eine bestimmte Stimmung versetzt zu werden. Nicht selten beginnt ein Fernsehabend mit der Überlegung, ob man lieber lachen oder weinen möchte, ob man etwas Spannendes oder Intellektuelles erleben will oder nur einfache Unterhaltung sucht. In vielen Fällen ist es auch ein Mix verschiedener Gefühle, der die gesuchte Stimmung beschreibt. Die in GOAB enthaltene Mood Search filtert das Medienangebot nach Adjektiven, die eine Stimmung oder ein Gefühl beschreiben. Das so entstehende Suchergebnis kann als weiterer Channel gespeichert werden, wir erlangen gewissermaßen eine „Mediensammlung der Stimmungen“.

Publizieren / Abonnieren

Wer einen Channel zu einem besonderen Wissensgebiet oder zu seinen „All-Time-Favorites“ erstellt hat, kann ihn veröffentlichen. Andere Nutzer können diesen Channel nun in ihre Übersicht integrieren.

Klassische Suchfunktionen

Natürlich stehen dem Nutzer klassische Suchfunktionen zur Verfügung. So kann er bspw. über eine Volltextsuche nach einem Regisseur oder Schauspieler einen Channel kreieren.

Thematischer Bookmark

Über die Möglichkeit ein bestimmtes Thema zu markieren, aggregiert GOAB Inhalte zu diesem Themenkomplex. Da die Ergebnisse aus allen verfügbaren Quellen gezogen werden, bekommt der Nutzer so einen umfassenden, aktuellen Überblick zum gewählten Thema.

Die Chance eigene Channel zu erstellen bietet dem Nutzer vielfältige Möglichkeiten seine persönliche Programmübersicht beliebig zu erweitern.

Teaser

GOAB nutzt eine auf dem klassischen Teaser-Konzept basierende Möglichkeit zu einer bestimmten Sendung Informationen abzurufen. Für jeden Inhalt wird ein Teaser angezeigt, der in drei Ausprägungen vorliegt, die sich in der Detailtiefe ihrer enthaltenen Informationen unterscheiden. Von Basisinformationen, wie Titel, Genrebeschreibung und Likes / Dislikes aus dem Sozialen Netzwerk, bis hin zu Trailern, Informationen zu Cast, MakingOf, Ratings oder weiterführenden Links zu anderen Filmen mit einem der Schauspieler, finden sich hier alle Informationen zur jeweiligen Sendung.

Durch die beschriebenen Mechaniken schafft GOAB für den Nutzer eine für ihn relevante Auswahl aus dem Medienangebot. Die Komplexität des Medienangebots wird beherrschbarer und nutzbar. Verbunden mit der intuitiven Benutzerführung eines Touch-Interfaces, das alle Funktionen möglichst einfach bedienbar macht, kann sich der Nutzer wieder mehr auf das konzentrieren, was er eigentlich will: Mit Spaß fernsehen.

« Zum Seitenanfang

Schreib einen Kommentar: